About Kazan

The Republic of Tatarstan is a federal subject of the Russian Federation. The head and the chief executive officer is the President.
Population: 3,838 mln people.
Capital, the city of Kazan, is situated on the bank of the Volga River.
Area: 614.2 sq. km.
Population: 1.191 mln people.
Major nationalities living in Kazan are Tatars and Russians (their numbers in percentage terms are almost equal).
Administrative arrangement: Kazan is divided into seven administrative districts.
Official languages: Russian, Tatar.
Climate: Moderately continental.
Average temperature: 
January (the coldest month) -14°С,
July (the hottest month) +19°С.
Time: Moscow time.

 Website of Kazan City Government: http://www.kzn.ru